I took  a day trip to Velankanni from Trichy last week and it was quite a trip. I had some of my friends come down from Mysore who joined me in this trip. We hired a Toyota Innova and piled on to that in the morning at about 08:00 AM. Being a week day , trichy roads were busy and people were going somewhere ( schools, offices, shops, movies, Shopping etc..) .

Breakfast : What is trip without a great Breakfast !!  We decided to have our Breakfast in a small restaurant which really gives us the South Indian flavours and settings. My Mysore friends were really particluar in eating in a place where they serve hot brekfast in Banana Leaf.  My dad told us about this great small restaurant called Jayram Vilas, in Thillainagar 10th cross and said they will serve hot, delicious breakfast in banana leaf. True to the word, it was a best breakfast ( South Indian style) we had and I was very happy that my Friends loved it. We had Idli( malligai Poo), Vada ( Moru Moru Vadai) , Pongal and Ghee Roast Dosai.. Man …. It was awesome.  And Topped it off with Narsu’s Coffee..  What a way to start !!!!!

Drive: The route we took to Velankani passed through Thanjavoor, Needamangalam, Thiruvaroor, Sikkal and Nagapattinam.

From ThillaiNagar we caught the Thanjavoor highway, after driving close to Cauveri banks near ERHSS School, in ariyamangalam. We can see Trichy’s breadth of change in this route. We passed through Chattiram Busstand which is a mess with buses, people and animals but it had so many restaurants and general shops, you will get almost anything there. Reached Anna Silai watching dilapidated Ramba, Oorvasi theatres and passed ERHSS.. ( yeah .. My alma mater) to reach the banks of cauvery. There is no water ( or very little) in cauvery which I promptly pointed out to my friends showing how it is if we do not get water from KRS. Took the Bypass road / bridge to Ariyamangalam and noticed many cars going on wrong side of the highway in order to save some driving.. ( Asked my driver about this practice and he said “Petrol vikkira velaiyile ithalam sagajam Saar” . Eventhough most of the cars are using diesel !!!)

Will continue this journey details in my next post.